Follow by Email (Make sure you check your email and accept!)

Monday, March 31, 2014

Saturday, March 29, 2014

Friday, March 28, 2014

Thursday, March 27, 2014

Wednesday, March 26, 2014

Tuesday, March 25, 2014

Monday, March 24, 2014

Saturday, March 22, 2014

Friday, March 21, 2014

Thursday, March 20, 2014

Week 3 questions

Day 13 Wed:  "Who do you say that I am?"
Day 14 Thurs:  "Do you not believe that I am in the Father?"
Day 15 Fri: "Did I not tell you that you would see the glory of God?"
Day 16 Sat: "Are you a teacher of Israel, and yet you do not understand these things?
Day 17 Mon: "Indeed, what can they give in return for their life?"
Day 18 Tue: "Will you lay down your life for me?"

day 14


Wednesday, March 19, 2014

Tuesday, March 18, 2014

Saturday, March 15, 2014

Friday, March 14, 2014

Thursday, March 13, 2014

Week two list of questions....

Week two questions:
Day 7 (Wed) Where is your faith?
Day 8 (Thur)  Was no one found to return and give thanks?
Day 9 (Fri) Do you believe that I am able to do this?
Day 10 (Sat) Did you not know that I must be in my Father’s house?
Day 11 (Mon) Why do you just see the speck in your neighbor’s eye?
Day 12 (Tues) How much longer must I put up with you?

Lent 2014 Day 8

Wednesday, March 12, 2014

Tuesday, March 11, 2014

Monday, March 10, 2014

Painting in the background

Folks have asked about the painting in the background of the daily videos.  It is an original work from Irish artist Brian Whelan.  The title is "In the beginning."   One of my favorite pieces of art that brings me joy every day.  

Lent 2014 Day 5

Saturday, March 8, 2014

Thursday, March 6, 2014

Further reflection...Day 2

I was thinking about the 'bad' questions that this woman may have been asking.   Questions that led to shame, blame and despair.  "Why can't they heal me?"  "Why did I spend all my money?"  "Why is this happening to me?"  "What did I do to deserve this?"   Then it seems to me that she somehow--by the Holy Spirit--came to a transformative question: "What can I do today to make steps toward being well?"  She decided to reach out to Jesus.  And she was not disappointed.  Jesus' question, "Who touched me" is also a call for us to look seriously at our own needs, our own hurts, our own motives that drive us to Jesus/God.  Didn't Jesus 'know' who touched him?  Perhaps the question is for her sake.  "Who touched you?  It was me.  I'm hurting.  I'm scared.  I'm at the end of my rope.  I've got no where else to turn and so I've come to you--that's who I am and that's who touched you!"  May we be as honest as we reach out to Jesus.  Amen

Luke 8:40-48   New Revised Standard Version (NRSV)

A Girl Restored to Life and a Woman Healed

40 Now when Jesus returned, the crowd welcomed him, for they were all waiting for him. 41 Just then there came a man named Jairus, a leader of the synagogue. He fell at Jesus’ feet and begged him to come to his house, 42 for he had an only daughter, about twelve years old, who was dying.
As he went, the crowds pressed in on him. 43 Now there was a woman who had been suffering from hemorrhages for twelve years; and though she had spent all she had on physicians,[a] no one could cure her. 44 She came up behind him and touched the fringe of his clothes, and immediately her hemorrhage stopped. 45 Then Jesus asked, “Who touched me?” When all denied it, Peter[b] said, “Master, the crowds surround you and press in on you.” 46 But Jesus said, “Someone touched me; for I noticed that power had gone out from me.” 47 When the woman saw that she could not remain hidden, she came trembling; and falling down before him, she declared in the presence of all the people why she had touched him, and how she had been immediately healed. 48 He said to her, “Daughter, your faith has made you well; go in peace.”

Lent 2014 DAY 2